|
BC Active Chess Championship 2010
|
|
11-05-2009, 11:26 PM
(This post was last modified: 11-05-2009 11:27 PM by Steve.)
Post: #1
|
|||
|
|||
|
BC Active Chess Championship 2010
Date: January 9-10, 2010
Place: Vancouver Bridge Centre, 2776 East Broadway (at Kaslo), Vancouver Rounds: 9 Starting Time: 11:00am Saturday January the 09th. 5 rounds on Saturday and 4 on Sunday Type: Regular Swiss. Time Controls: G/25 + 5 sec. increments or G/30. Entry Fee: $35 ($5 discount by sending your participation by email before Thursday January 07th) Prizes: First Prize guaranteed ($300), and rest based on entries. If 30 entries then 2nd $250 3rd $200 4th $100. Registration: On site from 10:00am Organizer: Luc Poitras (778) 846-0496 emailqueluc@lynx.net Bring your chess set and clock if possible. No membership required. |
|||
|
11-16-2009, 06:53 AM
(This post was last modified: 11-16-2009 06:54 AM by Shaun Luttin.)
Post: #2
|
|||
|
|||
|
RE: BC Active Chess Championship 2010
Hi Steven,
Thank you for posting this event. One of my goals is to get a CFC chess rating, and I don't now whether this tournament counts. Could you please let me know. I would really appreciate that. Warm regards, Shaun
|
|||
|
11-16-2009, 01:04 PM
Post: #3
|
|||
|
|||
|
RE: BC Active Chess Championship 2010
Hi Shaun. I'm not sure about the CFC chess rating. I play chess, but not in any competitions :-) I would suggest checking out the following link:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chess_Federation_of_Canada Cheers Steve |
|||
|
11-17-2009, 06:51 AM
Post: #4
|
|||
|
|||
|
RE: BC Active Chess Championship 2010
Okay. Thank you Steve. You segued into my next question: why does the Canadian Chess Federation Web site warn that it's an attack site? Is this Web site safe? You're a computer geek, so perhaps you can answer this.
http://chess.ca/ (The site) Warm regards, Shaun
|
|||
|
11-17-2009, 04:07 PM
Post: #5
|
|||
|
|||
|
RE: BC Active Chess Championship 2010
Hi Shaun:
:-) Thanks for the compliment. I have been told I'm a bit of a computer geek. I did notice that Google has flagged the http://chess.ca site as an attack site, but that was because (according to their front page) they were once infected with a virus and Google takes a long time to put them back onto the safe sites list. This is why I'm not keen on running Microsoft IIS (not their site was using it but I'm assuming it was either a Windows server and/or they were using IIS on Windows). Safer, and more stable (in my opinion), to run Web servers on Linux. My suggestion is to send them an email to confirm that the Website is safe to use. Cheers Steve |
|||
|
« Next Oldest | Next Newest »
|
User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)
Home
Search
Member List
Calendar
Help



